Baranggutan : Warrior Princess

the diary of the talkative introvert

Childhood Memories

on March 20, 2013

Oddly (or not), I grew up listening to old songs – those with lyrics telling stories more colorful than my picture books. I particularly like this one song I my sister and I used to sing. Of course, we’d end up fighting who gets to be Joni 🙂 I just heard it again today, and I suddenly felt nostalgic – not because of the lyrics or the irony of the story, but because of so many beautiful memories of my childhood – with old, old songs during Sundays and my mama’s sinigang na baboy (pork in tamarind soup). The bliss of innocence.

Joni: Jimmy Please Say You’ll Wait For Me
I’ll Grow Up Some Day You’ll See
Saving All My Kisses Just For You
Signed With Love Forever True

Conway:  Joni Was The Girl Who Lived Next Door
I’ve Known Her I Guess Ten Years Or More
Joni Wrote Me A Note One Day
And This Is What She Had To Say

Joni: Jimmy Please Say You’ll Wait For Me
I’ll Grow Up Some Day You’ll See
Saving All My Kisses Just For You
Signed With Love Forever True

Conway: Slowly I Read Her Note Once More
I Went Over To The House Next Door
Her Teardrops Fell Like Rain That Day
When I Told Her What I Had To Say

Conway : Joni Joni Please Don’t Cry
You’ll Forget Me Bye And Bye
You’re Just Fifteen I’m Twenty Two
And Joni I Just Can’t Wait For You

Conway : Soon I Left Our Little Home Town
Got Me A Job And Tried To Settle Down
But These Words Just Kept Haunting My Memory
The Words That Joni Said To Me

Joni:  Jimmy Please Say You’ll Wait For Me
I’ll Grow Up Some Day You’ll See
Saving All My Kisses Just For You
Signed With Love Forever True

Conway:  I Packed My Clothes And I Caught A Plane
Had To See Joni I Had To Explain
How My Heart Was Filled With Her Memory
And Ask My Joni If She’ll Marry Me

Conway:  I Ran All The Way To The House Next Door
Things Weren’t Like They Were Before
My Teardrops Fell Like Rain That Day
When I Heard What Joni Had To Say

Joni:  Jimmy Jimmy Please Don’t Cry
You’ll Forget Me Bye And Bye
It’s Been Five Years Since You’ve Been Gone
Jimmy I Married Your Best Friend John

 

Leave a Reply

Teach With Joy

Discover the joys of marriage, parenting, and homeschooling!

Kiss The Foodie

Stolen kisses are always the sweetest. My food is even better.

Products. Services. Reviews.

For your exquisite cheapskates!

Seth Adam Smith

Life Is Worth Living

#AbibaysKitchen

Yup. I cook, eat & Instagram a lot.

The Professional Heckler

"The problem with political jokes is they get elected.**"

Beautiful Freak

Normal is overrated.

Story Time

What happens next is up to you

a shot at love

photography, modeling, arts, movies, music, love and life

rodalena

"A fool also is full of words…" -Ecclesiastes 10:14a

Adventures of a Culinary Multiculturalist

Or, in which a white girl learns to cook other people's food.

Ashley P Dickens

Stories from my little black desk

Pink Pens and High Heels

Explore. Run. Eat. Climb. Write. Repeat.

The Extinction Protocol

Geologic and Earthchange News events

chappycallanta

Strength and Conditioning done the right way

